Apr 14 2009

Jason Mraz To Receive Hal David Starlight Award At Songwriters Hall Of Fame 40th Anniversary Gala

New York, N.Y. April 14, 2009 – Hal David, Chairman/CEO of the Songwriters Hall of Fame, today announced that Jason Mraz will be the recipient of the Hal David Starlight Award, to be presented at the 2009 Songwriters Hall of Fame 40th Anniversary Awards dinner, slated for Thursday, June 18th, at the New York Marriott Marquis Hotel.

Starting out as a busker in New York City, Mraz moved to the warmer climate of San Diego to hone his writing and performing skills. It was there that he received attention from Elektra Records, which released Mraz’ debut Waiting For My Rocket To Come in 2002. Producing the hit singles “The Remedy (I Won’t Worry),” which Mraz co-wrote with pop hitmakers the Matrix, “You & I Both” and “Curbside Prophet,” Waiting For My Rocket To Come received platinum certification and paved the way for Mraz’ reputation as a clever, inspired and observant songwriter. Mraz’ second release, the Grammy-nominated Mr. A-Z, debuted at #5 on the charts and featured the hit single “Wordplay.” His third album We Sing. We Dance. We Steal Things. resulted in three Grammy nominations, including Song of the Year for “I’m Yours,” which is a warm breeze of a song about finally giving into love and life’s possibilities set to lilting island tempo. “I’m Yours” holds the distinction of being the only song to ever top the airplay charts in the U.S. in all four major pop radio formats – Top 40, Adult Alternative, Adult Contemporary and Hot Adult Contemporary - and has sold over five million copies worldwide.

Commenting on the award to Mraz, lyricist extraordinaire Hal David said, “Jason’s accomplishments as a talented songwriter make him the ideal recipient of our Starlight Award.”

The Hal David Starlight Award, created in 2004, was renamed in honor of the SHOF Chairman for his longtime support of young songwriters. Award recipients are gifted songwriters who are at an apex in their careers and are making a significant impact in the music industry via their original songs. Jason Mraz joins the prestigious company of Rob Thomas, Alicia Keys, John Mayer, John Legend and John Rzeznik as past recipients of the Hal David Starlight Award.

Inductees at this year’s event include Jon Bon Jovi and Richie Sambora; Felix Cavaliere and Eddie Brigati (The Young Rascals); Roger Cook and Roger Greenaway; Crosby, Stills & Nash; Galt MacDermot, James Rado and Gerome Ragni (deceased); and Stephen Schwartz. The Johnny Mercer Award is being presented to Brian Holland, Lamont Dozier and Eddie Holland of Holland-Dozier-Holland. The Towering Song this year is “Moon River” and the Towering Performance Award will be presented to Andy Williams.

About The Songwriters Hall of Fame:

The Songwriters Hall of Fame celebrates songwriters, educates the public with regard to their achievements, and produces a spectrum of professional programs devoted to the development of new songwriting talent through workshops, showcases and scholarships. Over the course of the past 40 years, some key Songwriters Hall of Fame inductees have included Desmond Child, Dolly Parton, John Fogerty, Isaac Hayes and David Porter, Steve Cropper, Richard and Robert Sherman, Bill Withers, Carole King, Paul Simon, Bob Dylan, Billy Joel, Sir Elton John, Bernie Taupin, Brian Wilson, James Taylor, James Brown, Curtis Mayfield, Hal David and Burt Bacharach, Jim Croce, Phil Collins, Alan and Marilyn Bergman, Jimmy Webb, Van Morrison and Cy Coleman among many, many others. The Songwriters Hall of Fame was founded in 1969 by songwriter Johnny Mercer and publishers Abe Olman and Howie Richmond.

Full biographies and a complete list of inductees are available at the Songwriters Hall of Fame’s Virtual Museum at songhall.org.

Ticket Information:

Tickets for the Songwriters Hall of Fame 40th Anniversary Gala begin at $1000 each, and are available through Buckley Hall Events, (212) 573-6933. Net proceeds from the event support the Songwriters Hall of Fame programs.