Nile Rodgers Re-Elected Chairman Of Songwriters Hall Of Fame

New York, N.Y.- June 18, 2021- Songwriters Hall of Fame inductee Nile Rodgers was unanimously re-elected to serve a second 3-year term as Chairman of the Songwriters Hall of Fame by the SHOF Board of Directors at its annual board meeting held on June 11.

“Nile is tremendously respected and admired by his peers and fans of all generations for being a musical pioneer with his multi/cross-genre music,” said Linda Moran, SHOF President & CEO. “With an ever-expanding list of credits and accomplishments, having him as a partner has been a very special and rewarding experience and the Songwriters Hall of Fame can ask for no better representative, both to the songwriting community and to the world at large.”

​ "Three years ago, I was honored and humbled to be elected by my peers as the Chairman of the Songwriters Hall of Fame. It has been one of the most important experiences of my life to represent and advocate for the songwriting community,” Nile Rodgers commented. “To now be given the opportunity to serve for another three years is a responsibility I take very seriously. We’ve done great work in the first three years despite the pandemic but we are just getting started. There is no music industry without the song and I’m delighted to serve the songwriters that have delivered the most iconic songs of all time.”

Re-elected officers with Moran include CFO and Treasurer Tom Kelly and Senior Vice Presidents David Israelite, Beth Matthews and Mike O’Neill, Secretary Mary Jo Mennella and Deputy Secretary April Anderson. Elected members to the Board of Directors who will serve 3-year terms are SHOF inductees Desmond Child, Steve Dorff and Paul Williams, Hal David Starlight Award Recipient Ne-Yo, Martin Bandier, Caroline Bienstock, Donna Caseine, Samantha Cox, Charlie Feldman, Fletcher Foster, Pete Ganbarg, Randy Grimmett, John Josephson, Jody Klein, Evan Lamberg, Carianne Marshall, Nancy Munoz, Jon Platt, Irwin Z. Robinson, Patrice Rushen and John Titta. Barry Slotnick will continue as Counsel.

About Nile Rodgers:
Among music legends, Nile Rodgers is truly exceptional. He amplifies his legacy as a multiple GRAMMY-winning composer, producer, arranger and guitarist by constantly traversing new musical terrain and successfully expanding the boundaries of popular music. As the co-founder of CHIC and the Chairman of the Songwriters Hall of Fame, Rodgers pioneered a musical language that generated chart-topping hits like “Le Freak,” (the biggest selling single in the history of Atlantic Records) and sparked the advent of hip-hop with “Good Times”. Nile transcends all styles of music across every generation with a body of work that’s garnered him inductions into the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame and the Songwriters Hall of Fame. Nile is also the co-founder and Chairman of the We are Family Foundation and also the recipient of their Humanitarian Award. Currently, Nile serves as the first-ever Chief Creative Advisor for the incomparable Abbey Road Studios and he recently launched the critically acclaimed Apple Music 1’s “Deep Hidden Meaning Radio with Nile Rodgers”. His unforgettable live performances with CHIC have been included in “festival best performances” at both Glastonbury and Coachella resulting in a BBC Music Awards nomination for “Best Live Performance”, and the LA Times stating “Nile Rodgers influence stretches all over Coachella, beaming the sound of a better future”. Nile’s work in the CHIC Organization and his productions for artists like David Bowie, Diana Ross, and Madonna have sold over 500 million albums and 75 million singles worldwide while his trendsetting collaborations with Daft Punk, Avicii, Keith Urban, Disclosure, Sam Smith and Lady Gaga reflect the vanguard of contemporary music. 

For the Songwriters Hall of Fame:
April Anderson
Songwriters Hall of Fame
[email protected]

For Nile Rodgers:
Fran DeFeo
Fran DeFeo PR
[email protected]