The 2022 Songwriters Hall Of Fame Scholarship Recipients Announced

(top row) Allyson Latini, Laura Lee Bishop p/k/a Primo the Alien, Ron Artis II, Lexi Jayde, Ella Collier and Jacob Mayron King
(bottom row) Maxx Moore, Kii Kinsella p/k/a Saint Kid, Rowan Drake, Kareen Lomax, Grace Enger and Echo Huang

New York, N.Y.- June 8, 2022- The 2022 recipients of the Abe Olman Scholarships for Excellence in Songwriting, NYU Steinhardt Songwriting Scholar Award, Curtis Mayfield Scholarship Award, USC Thornton School of Music Scholarship Award, Songwriters of Tomorrow and the new Bill Withers Scholarship have been selected, SHOF President & CEO Linda Moran announced today. 

Recipients of the Abe Olman Scholarship for Excellence in Songwriting are selected by ASCAP, BMI and SESAC from their membership. Abe Olman, for whom this program is named, was both a major figure in the music publishing community and a songwriter himself, in addition to being one of the founders of the Songwriters Hall of Fame. The Abe Olman Scholarships, given out annually since 1990, have been made possible by his family in the interest of encouraging and supporting the careers of young songwriters. In 2002, one such recipient was John Stephens, whose scholarship funds enabled him to finish his first album which went on to win a GRAMMY under his professional name of John Legend. In 2007 he was presented with the SHOF's coveted Hal David Starlight Award.

This year's Abe Olman Scholarship recipients are:

Laura Lee Bishop p/k/a Primo the Alien (SESAC) 

Rowan Drake (BMI)

Grace Enger (BMI) 

Lexi Jayde (ASCAP)

Kii Kinsella p/k/a Saint Kid (BMI)

Kareen Lomax (ASCAP)

The recipient of the new Bill Withers Scholarship, as intended by Marcia Withers and their daughter, singer/songwriter Kori Withers, is one whose work emulates the eloquence of songwriting together with the spirit and soul that defines the songs of Bill Withers. The inaugural awardee for 2022 is Ron Artis II.

The USC Thornton School of Music Scholarship Award is given annually to a student songwriter who demonstrates exceptional professional potential through their art, craft and personal character as determined by the faculty of the Popular Music Program and Division of Contemporary Music. The 2022 recipient is graduating senior Ella Collier.

The Songwriters of Tomorrow Scholarship is awarded to a high school senior attending a New York City public school, demonstrating the talent and desire to learn the craft of songwriting. The student is chosen based on an original song (lyrics and music), and the scholarship will extend an opportunity to pursue a career in music. The 2022 recipient is Jacob Mayron King.

The Curtis Mayfield Scholarship Award recognizes a promising singer/songwriter whose work reflects the inspiration, spirit and soul of SHOF inductee Curtis Mayfield. Maxx Moore is the recipient for 2022.

The NYU Steinhardt Songwriting Scholar Award is presented to music composition students whose work holds great potential for success in the field, and embodies the art, craft, individuality and qualities of communication of the best songwriting. Echo Huang and Allyson Latini are the 2022 NYU Steinhardt Songwriting Scholar awardees.

More information regarding all of the 2022 recipients can be found in the Education section of the website.