You Are Invited To A Live Virtual Q&A Event for “RESPECT”

Monday, December 6, 2:00PM (PT)

Songwriter, Singer, & Actress



1987 SHOF Inductee CAROLE KING


Co-writers of Original Song “Here I Am (Singing My Way Home)”


RSVP to [email protected]

You will receive viewing link for Q&A 10 minutes prior to the start of the Q&A!

Jennifer Hudson
is Aretha Franklin in the true story of the icon’s musical and spiritual journeys. She overcomes controlling men and inner demons and, empowered by family friend Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., becomes a civil rights activist. With Forest Whitaker, Marlon Wayans, and Audra McDonald. PG-13 | 145mins


Jennifer Hudson is a two-time Grammy Award-winning recording artist, Academy Award-winning actress, Emmy Award-nominated producer, and best-selling author with extraordinary talent. From humble beginnings, Hudson began singing in a small Chicago church where, week after week, she brought the congregation to its feet. From there, she’s gone on to worldwide acclaim. 
Currently, Hudson can be seen starring as Aretha Franklin in the critically acclaimed film, Respect, directed by Liesl Tommy. Hudson was handpicked by Franklin to play the role and also served as an executive producer. The film’s soundtrack, which debuted on Billboard’s Top 10 Album Sales chart and signaled Hudson’s fourth top ten album to date, included the new original song, “Here I Am (Singing My Way Home),” which Hudson co-wrote alongside Carole King and Jamie Hartman. Earlier this year, Netflix released Anthony Mandler’s film Monster starring Hudson. The year prior, Hudson served as an executive producer on the short VR film, Baba Yaga, which premiered at the 2020 Venice Film Festival. In 2019, Hudson’s song, “I’ll Fight,” written by Diane Warren for the critically acclaimed documentary RBG, was nominated for an Academy Award. Hudson served as a coach on NBC’s The Voice in 2017 and 2018, as well as ITV’s The Voice UK in 2017, 2018, and 2019. Previously, Hudson won an Academy Award in 2007 for her role as Effie in the smash hit Dreamgirls, an adaptation of the Broadway musical. Her breakout film performance also garnered a Golden Globe Award, a Screen Actors Guild Award, a BAFTA, and an NAACP Image Award. Next, Hudson is set to star in and executive produce an untitled Christmas musical comedy at New Line. 


1987 Songwriters Hall of Fame Inductee Carole King
wrote her first number one hit “Will You Love Me Tomorrow” at the tender age of 17, and has since become the most celebrated and iconic singer/songwriter of all time. She is the #1 most successful female songwriter of the 20th-century pop music era, with 118 chart hits. 

King’s accolades include Songwriters Hall of Fame; National Academy of Songwriters’ Lifetime Achievement Award; Rock and Roll Hall of Fame; Johnny Mercer Award from the Songwriters Hall of Fame; Trustees Award from The Recording Academy®; BMI Icon Award; Honorary Doctorate from Berklee College of Music; The Recording Academy Lifetime Achievement Award; The Library of Congress Gershwin Prize for Popular Song; MusiCares Person of the Year; and Kennedy Center Honoree.

In October 2021, King was inducted into the Rock & Roll Hall of fame for the second time. 


Jamie Hartman is the Ivor Novello Songwriter Of The Year 2021, five-time Grammy-nominated, (including the 2022 Grammy-nominated collab with legendary Carole King and Oscar winner Jennifer Hudson song "Here I Am (Singing My Way Home)”, four-time BMI Award winner, two-time Ivor Novello winner, Brit Award winner, Music Week Award winner, four-time Music Business Worldwide A&R Awards nominee, and 2021 Oscar shortlist nominee who has written, produced, and performed hundreds of cuts in the pop, singer-songwriter, and dance genres. 

Working with a range of major label artists and top talent around the world, Hartman’s credits include tracks for Lewis Capaldi, Rag n Bone Man, Calvin Harris, Celeste, Kygo, Backstreet Boys, Jennifer Hudson, Guy Sebastian, Marlon Roudette, Conrad Sewell, James Bay, Kylie Minogue, Anastacia, Birdy among many others.

This event is organized by the Society of Composers and Lyricists .