The 2023 Songwriters Hall Of Fame Scholarship Recipients Announced

(top row) Durand Bernarr, Lizzy Cameron, Nicholas Carpenter p/k/a Medium Build, Rodney Anderson p/k/a Rodney Chrome, Ashley Fulton, Kiran Gandhi p/k/a Madame Gandhi
(middle row) Lauryn Marie Hedges p/k/a Lauryn Marie, Alexander Jett p/k/a Zander Jett, Mari Kimenker, Zoe Ko, Shungudzo Kuyimba p/k/a Shungudzo, Heather LaRose
(bottom row) Jackson Mansfield, Luey June Namoc p/k/a Luey June, Andrew Oliver p/k/a Dru Oliver, Lucas Sim, Angel Soto, Ellie Williams

The 2023 recipients of the Abe Olman Scholarships for Excellence in Songwriting, NYU Steinhardt Songwriting Scholar Award, Curtis Mayfield Scholarship Award, USC Thornton School of Music Scholarship Award, Songwriters of Tomorrow, Bill Withers Scholarship and the new Belmont University Songwriting Scholarship have been selected, SHOF President & CEO Linda Moran announced today. 

Recipients of the Abe Olman Scholarship for Excellence in Songwriting are selected by ASCAP, BMI and SESAC from their membership. Abe Olman, for whom this program is named, was both a major figure in the music publishing community and a songwriter himself, in addition to being one of the founders of the Songwriters Hall of Fame. The Abe Olman Scholarships, given out annually since 1990, have been made possible by his family in the interest of encouraging and supporting the careers of young songwriters. In 2002, one such recipient was John Stephens, whose scholarship funds enabled him to finish his first album which went on to win a GRAMMY under his professional name of John Legend. In 2007 he was presented with the SHOF's coveted Hal David Starlight Award.
This year's Abe Olman Scholarship recipients are:
  • Durand Bernarr (ASCAP) 
  • Nicholas Carpenter p/k/a Medium Build (ASCAP)
  • Rodney Anderson p/k/a Rodney Chrome (BMI) 
  • Kiran Gandhi p/k/a Madame Gandhi (SESAC)
  • Zoe Ko (BMI)
  • Shungudzo Kuyimba p/k/a Shungudzo (ASCAP)
  • Heather LaRose (SESAC)
  • Lucas Sim (BMI)
The NYU Steinhardt Songwriting Scholar Award is presented to music composition students whose work holds great potential for success in the field, and embodies the art, craft, individuality and qualities of communication of the best songwriting. Jackson Mansfield and Mari Kimenker are the 2023 NYU Steinhardt Songwriting Scholar awardees.
The Curtis Mayfield Scholarship, as created by his late widow Altheida, and son Cheaa Mayfield,  recognizes a promising singer/songwriter whose work reflects the inspiration, spirit and soul of SHOF inductee Curtis Mayfield. Andrew Oliver p/k/a Dru Oliver is the recipient for 2023.
The USC Thornton School of Music Scholarship Award is given annually to student songwriters who demonstrates exceptional professional potential through their art, craft and personal character as determined by the faculty of the Popular Music Program and Division of Contemporary Music. The 2023 recipients are Lizzy Cameron and Ellie Williams.
The Songwriters of Tomorrow Scholarship is awarded to high school seniors attending a New York City public school, demonstrating the talent and desire to learn the craft of songwriting. The students are chosen based on an original song (lyrics and music), and the scholarships will extend an opportunity to pursue a career in music. The 2023 recipients are Luey June Namoc p/k/a Luey June and Angel Soto.
The recipient of the Bill Withers Scholarship, as intended by Marcia Withers and their daughter, singer/songwriter Kori Withers, is one whose work emulates the eloquence of songwriting together with the spirit and soul that defines the songs of SHOF inductee Bill Withers. The awardee for 2023 is Ashley Fulton.
The new Belmont University Songwriting Scholarship is awarded to Belmont University Songwriting majors who possess tangible exceptional songwriting potential and the intangible qualities of bringing out the best of their collaborators and contributing to the larger community of songwriters. The inaugural 2023 recipients are Lauryn Marie Hedges p/k/a Lauryn Marie and Alexander Jett p/k/a Zander Jett.
More information regarding all of the 2023 recipients can be found in the Education section of our website.