Lil Nas X To Receive Hal David Starlight Award At 2022 Songwriters Hall Of Fame Gala

Previously Announced Honorees Include Inductees Mariah Carey, Annie Lennox & Dave Stewart p/k/a Eurythmics, Ernie Isley, Marvin Isley, O’Kelly Isley, Ronald Isley, Rudolph Isley & Chris Jasper p/k/a The Isley Brothers, Steve Miller, Pharrell Williams & Chad Hugo p/k/a The Neptunes, Rick Nowels, and William “Mickey” Stevenson
Master Songwriter Paul Williams To Receive Prestigious Johnny Mercer Award

Chairman & CEO / Universal Music Publishing Group Jody Gerson To Receive Abe Olman Publisher Award


New York, NY – May 19, 2022 – Lil Nas X will be the recipient of the eminent Hal David Starlight Award, at the 51st Annual Induction and Awards Dinner slated for Thursday, June 16 at the Marriott Marquis Hotel in New York City.
The Hal David Starlight Award, created in 2004, was named in honor of SHOF Chairman Emeritus Hal David, for his longtime support of young songwriters.  Award recipients are gifted young songwriters who are making a significant impact in the music industry via their original songs.  Lil Nas X, a Sony Music Publishing writer, joins the distinguished company of Halsey, Sara Bareilles, Ed Sheeran, Nick Jonas, Nate Ruess, Imagine Dragons’ Dan Reynolds, Taylor Swift, John Legend, Alicia Keys, Ne-Yo, Drake, Benny Blanco, Jason Mraz, John Mayer, Rob Thomas, and John Rzeznik.
SHOF Chair Nile Rodgers commented, “Lil Nas X is someone we are very proud to award the Hal David Starlight Award to. He has perhaps better than anyone demonstrated how powerful great songs are with Old Town Road and Montero dominating the charts for almost every day of the last three years. If you’re lucky enough to be alive at this time, you know exactly who Lil Nas X is and he’s an incredible and inspirational person for every one of his communities as well."
President & CEO Linda Moran added, “Lil Nas X’s thought-provoking multi-genre song/musical style — described as pop rap, hip hop, country rap, trap, pop rock, pop, and rock — speaks soundly to diverse generations of fans. He is certainly worthy of joining the esteemed list of past Starlight Award honorees.”
Lil Nas X is a 23-year-old award-winning rapper, singer, songwriter from Atlanta, Georgia. Dubbed “an internationally recognized phenomenon” by Billboard, he rose to fame in 2019 when he released “Old Town Road” and simultaneously upended the music industry – shattering genre norms, disrupting the charts and going viral worldwide. The song’s remix with Billy Ray Cyrus became the longest running #1 single in Billboard Hot 100 history after 19 weeks atop the chart. The 16x Platinum hit is the most certified song in RIAA history and is recognized with numerous awards including two GRAMMY® Awards.
After releasing his eclectic EP 7 in June 2019, which features the 6x Platinum “Panini” and 2x Platinum “Rodeo,” Lil Nas X returned in November 2020 with his Platinum single “HOLIDAY” and followed with the culture-shifting 3x Platinum hit “MONTERO (Call Me By Your Name)” in March 2021. The queer anthem provoked much needed dialogue around the globe, debuted at #1 on the Billboard Hot 100, remained atop of the Spotify Global chart for over a month straight, and propelled to #1 on the Top 40 and Rhythm Airplay charts.
Already named a fashion icon for all his incredible eye-catching looks, the multifaceted artist and internet king released his critically acclaimed and GRAMMY®-nominated debut album Montero in September 2021. The album was included on numerous Best of 2021 lists from Rolling Stone, Entertainment Weekly, People, USA Today, Billboard, Los Angeles Times, Complex, and more for “its genre-stretching approach and refreshingly honest exploration of love and loneliness” as told by Variety. The certified Platinum album, which Billboard calls a “masterpiece,” also boasts the 4x Platinum hit song “Industry Baby” featuring Jack Harlow, which went on to reach #1 at Top 40 radio and #1 on the Billboard Hot 100. The album’s third Platinum single “That’s What I Want” recently became Nas’ third straight #1 song at Top 40 radio. Lil Nas X continues to prove he is a force to be reckoned with.
Inductees at this year’s event include Mariah Carey, Annie Lennox & Dave Stewart p/k/a Eurythmics, Ernie Isley, Marvin Isley, O'Kelly Isley, Ronald Isley, Rudolph Isley & Chris Jasper p/k/a The Isley Brothers, Steve Miller, Pharrell Williams & Chad Hugo p/k/a The Neptunes, Rick Nowels and William "Mickey" Stevenson. Master songwriter Paul Williams will be receiving the prestigious Johnny Mercer Award and Chairman & CEO of Universal Music Publishing Group, Jody Gerson will receive the Abe Olman Publisher Award.

Songwriters Hall of Fame:
Jessica Sciacchitano | R&CPMK
[email protected]
For Lil Nas X:
Ashley Buenrostro
Columbia Records
[email protected]