1970 Inaugural Induction Ceremony

View all inductees

The National Academy of Popular Music/Songwriters Hall of Fame celebrated its First annual Induction and Awards Ceremony in New York City.

That year's inductees included Fred Ahlert, Ernest Ball, Katherine Lee Bates, Irving Berlin, William Billings, James Bland, James Brockman, Lew Brown, Nacio Herb Brown, Alfred Bryan, Joe Burke, Johnny Burke, Anne Caldwell, Harry Carroll, Sidney Clare, George M. Cohan, Con Conrad, Sam Coslow, Hart P. Danks, Reginald De Koven, Peter De Rose, Buddy De Sylva, Mort Dixon, Walter Donaldson, Paul Dresser, Dave Dreyer, AI Dubin, Vernon Duke, Gus Edwards, Raymond B. Egan, Daniel D. Emmet, Ted Fiorito, Fred Fisher, Stephen Foster, George Gershwin, L. Wolfe Gilbert, Patrick S. Gilmore, Mack Gordon, Ferde Grofe, Woody Guthrie, Oscar Hammerstein II, W.C. Handy, James F Hanley, Otto Harbach, Charles K. Harris, Lorenz Hart, Ray Henderson, Victor Herbert, Billy Hill, Joe Howard, Julia Ward Howe, Carrie Jacobs Bond, Howard Johnson, James P. Johnson, James W. Johnson, Arthur Johnston, Isham Jones, Scott Joplin, Irving Kahal, Gus Kahn, Burt Kalmar, Jerome Kern, Francis Scott Key, Huddie Ledbetter, Sam Lewis, Frank Loesser, Ballard MacDonald, Edward Madden, Joseph McCarthy, Jimmy McHugh, George W. Meyer, Jimmy Monaco, Neil Moret, Theodore Morse, Lewis F. Muir, Ethelbert Nevin, Jack Norworth, Chauncey Olcott, John Howard Payne, J.S. Pierpont, Lew Pollack, Cole Porter, Ralph Rainger, Harry Revel, Eben E. Rexford, Jimmie Rodgers, Richard Rodgers, Sigmund Romberg, George F. Root, Billy Rose, Vincent Rose, Harry Ruby, Bob Russell, Jean Schwartz, Harry B. Smith, Samuel Francis Smith, Ted Snyder, John Phillip Sousa, Andrew B. Sterling, Harry A. Tierney, Charles Tobias, Roy Turk, Egbert Van Alstyne, Albert Von Tilzer, Harry Von Tilzer, Thomas "Fats" Waller, Samuel A. Ward, Kurt Weill, Percy Wenrich, Richard Whiting, Clarence Williams, Hank Williams, Spencer Williams, Septimus Winner, Harry M. Woods, Henry C. Work, Allie Wrubel, Vincent Youmans, Joe Young, Rida Johnson Young and Victor Young.

Click on any of the inductee or award recipient names at right to read a biographical profile.

The National Academy of Popular Music/Songwriters Hall of Fame was founded in 1969 by songwriter Johnny Mercer and publishers Abe Olman and Howie Richmond. The NAPM/SHOF is also devoted to the development of new songwriting talent through workshops, showcases and scholarships.


  • American Airlines
  • Prager Metis

The Songhall gratefully acknowledges the generous contributions of...

  • BMI
  • NMPA

The Songwriters Hall of Fame's ongoing mission is to celebrate and honor the contributions and legacies of songwriters of all genres of music while developing and nurturing the next generation of songwriters through Master Sessions, songwriting craft forums, scholarships and digital initiatives.