“What A Wonderful World” To Receive Towering Song Award

Previously Announced Honorees Include Inductees Bobby Braddock, Willie Dixon, Robert Hunter & Jerry Garcia, Toby Keith, Cyndi Lauper and Linda Perry and Special Award Recipients Van Morrison, Lady Gaga, Nate Ruess and John LoFrumento

May 20, 2015 – New York – The Songwriters Hall of Fame announced today that the 2014 Towering Song Award will be presented to “What A Wonderful World” at the 46th Annual Songwriters Hall of Fame Induction and Awards Dinner slated for Thursday, June 18th at the Marriott Marquis Hotel in New York City

The Towering Song Award honors an individual song that has influenced our culture in a unique way over many years. Previous Towering Songs have included “Take Me Out To The Ballgame,” “Moon River,” “Bridge Over Troubled Water,” “It Was A Very Good Year,” “Stand By Me,” “A Change Is Gonna Come” and “Over The Rainbow.”

“What A Wonderful World,” with words and music by George David Weiss and Bob Thiele, was recorded by Louis Armstrong in 1967 for ABC Records. It was created in order to cut through the racial tensions of the 1960’s but due to a lack of promotion, it did not succeed as a single on its first issue in the United States, although it topped the charts in many other countries. The song came to renewed attention after Armstrong’s recording of it was featured on the soundtrack of the 1987 film Good Morning, Vietnam. The song has since been recorded by many other performers and is a beloved contemporary standard. Louis Armstrong’s version was inducted into the Grammy Hall of Fame in 1999. 

Commenting on the selection of “What A Wonderful World” as the 2015 Towering Song, SHOF President & CEO Linda Moran said, “This song possesses layer upon layer of beauty, meaning and positivity.  It’s no wonder that people everywhere have embraced it to accompany happy life cycle events like the birth of a child, bar mitzvahs and confirmations, and weddings. Film, TV and advertising producers all understand the song’s appeal as well. “What a Wonderful World” was the last great showcase for one of America’s eternal stars – Louis Armstrong. And it continues to resonate.”

Inductees at this year’s event include Bobby Braddock, Willie Dixon, Robert Hunter & Jerry Garcia, Toby Keith, Cyndi Lauper and Linda Perry.  Van Morrison will be honored with the Johnny Mercer Award, Lady Gaga will be presented with the first-ever Contemporary Icon Award, fun.’s Nate Ruess will receive the Hal David Starlight Award and John LoFrumento will be awarded with the Visionary Leadership Award.

Ticket Information:
Tickets for the Songwriters Hall of Fame event begin at $1,250 each, and are available through Buckley Hall Events, 914-579-1000. Net proceeds from the event will go toward the Songwriters Hall of Fame programs.  Songwriters Hall of Fame is a 501(c)3 organization.  The non-deductible portion of each ticket is $170. Contributions, for which no goods or services are received in exchange, are fully tax-deductible as provided by law.

Fran Curtis
Rogers & Cowan
[email protected]

Cara Hutchison
Rogers & Cowan
[email protected]