SHOF Chairman Jimmy Webb To Receive Prestigious Ivor Novello Award

Songwriters Hall of Fame Chairman Jimmy Webb will be the recipient of the 2012 prestigious Ivor Novello “Special International Award,” which he will be presented with in London on May 17th.

The Ivor Novello ‘Special International Award’ recognizes non-British writers and composers who have made an extraordinary contribution to the musical landscape globally. Previous recipients have included SHOF inductees Brian Wilson, Kenny Gamble & Leon Huff, Stevie Wonder, Jerry Leiber & Mike Stoller, Hal David, Smokey Robinson, Diane Warren and Stephen Sondheim. This year, PRS and the British Academy of Songwriters Composers and Authors will to pay tribute to Jimmy Webb for his incalculable impact on music throughout the world at their 57th annual event.

The Ivor Novello Awards, named after the Cardiff born entertainer Ivor Novello, are solely dedicated to recognizing the work of British and International composers and songwriters. They are presented annually in London by the British Academy of Songwriters, Composers and Authors (BASCA), and were first introduced in 1955.

Fellows of the British Academy of Songwriters Composers and Authors include SHOF inductees Sir Paul McCartney, Sir Elton John, John Barry and Sir Tim Rice.