R&B Superstar Ne-Yo To Receive Hal David Starlight Award At Songwriters Hall Of Fame Gala

Previously Announced Inductees Include Gordon Lightfoot, Bob Seger, Don Schlitz, Harvey Schmidt & Tom Jones and Jim Steinman

New York, NY- April 9, 2012 – Ne-Yo will be the recipient of the prestigious Hal David Starlight Award, to be presented at the 43rd Annual Induction and Awards Dinner slated for Thursday, June 14 at the Marriott Marquis Hotel in New York City, Songwriters Hall of Fame Chairman Jimmy Webb announced today. 

The Hal David Starlight Award, created in 2004, was renamed in honor of SHOF Chairman Emeritus Hal David, for his longtime support of young songwriters. Award recipients are gifted young songwriters who are making a significant impact in the music industry via their original songs. Ne-Yo joins the prestigious company of Rob Thomas, Alicia Keys, John Mayer, John Legend, John Rzeznik, Jason Mraz, Taylor Swift and Drake.

Ne-Yo is the multi-platinum, three-time Grammy® Award-winning recording artist acclaimed for his incredible songwriting talent, powerhouse performances and expertise as a producer. Ne-Yo, who began his career as a songwriter, was catapulted into the spotlight with his hit “Let Me Love You,” which he wrote for R&B singer Mario, landing him a record deal with Def Jam in 2004.  His debut album In My Own Words went RIAA platinum and featured US #1 hit “So Sick,” as well as the Top 10 hit “Sexy Love.”  His follow-up album Because of You, released in 2007, won Ne-Yo the Grammy® Award for Best Contemporary R&B Album.  The title track and first single off the platinum-selling album debuted at #1 on the Billboard 200 chart.

His most recent album, Libra Scale in 2010, was the follow-up to the 2008 RIAA platinum Year Of The Gentleman, his third consecutive album to enter the Soundscan chart at #1. In addition to the trio of RIAA platinum hit singles “Closer,” “Miss Independent,” and “Mad,” Year Of The Gentleman generated five Grammy® nominations in 2009 – with “Miss Independent” winning for Best R&B Song, which Ne-Yo penned, and Best Male R&B Vocal Performance. 

Now a prominent member of Motown Records, Ne-Yo has written chart-topping songs for a catalog of artists throughout his career including Usher, Rihanna, Beyonce, Mary J Blige, Jennifer Hudson, Tim McGraw and many others. In large part due to his award-winning songwriting abilities, Ne-Yo was recently named the senior vice president of A&R at Motown, where he serves as a producer and mentor to the label’s artists, as well as seeks out and signs new talent.  Ne-Yo will release his highly anticipated fifth studio album on Motown this fall.

“Ne-Yo’s beginnings as a young singer-songwriter and his subsequent rise as a chart-topping writer and producer make him the perfect choice for the prestigious Hal David Starlight Award,” commented SHOF Chairman and legendary songwriter Jimmy Webb. “We are looking forward to applauding his many accomplishments at our Annual Awards Gala.”

Previously announced inductees at this year’s SHOF event include Gordon Lightfoot, Bob Seger, Don Schlitz, Harvey Schmidt & Tom Jones and Jim Steinman.  The Sammy Cahn Lifetime Achievement Award will be presented to Bette Midler and the Abe Olman Publisher Award will be presented to Lance Freed. “Stand By Me” will receive the Towering Song Award with Ben E. King honored with the Towering Performance Award.

Ticket Information:
Tickets for the Songwriters Hall of Fame event begin at $1000 each, and are available through Buckley Hall Events, (212) 573-6933. Net proceeds from the event will go toward the Songwriters Hall of Fame programs.

Fran Curtis
Rogers & Cowan
[email protected]

Lauren Wilsman
Rogers & Cowan
[email protected]