Nate Ruess (Of Fun.) To Receive Hal David Starlight Award At Songwriters Hall Of Fame Gala

Previously Announced Inductees Include Bobby Braddock, Willie Dixon, Robert Hunter & Jerry Garcia, Toby Keith, Cyndi Lauper and Linda Perry

March 18, 2015 –  New York – Nate Ruess (of fun.) will be the recipient of the prestigious Hal David Starlight Award, to be presented at the 46th Annual Induction and Awards Dinner slated for Thursday, June 18th at the Marriott Marquis Hotel in New York City, Songwriters Hall of Fame President and CEO Linda Moran announced today. 

The Hal David Starlight Award, created in 2004, was named in honor of SHOF Chairman Emeritus Hal David, for his longtime support of young songwriters. Award recipients are gifted young songwriters who are making a significant impact in the music industry via their original songs. Nate Ruess joins the prestigious company of 2014 honoree Imagine Dragons’ Dan Reynolds, Taylor Swift, John Legend, Alicia Keys, Ne-Yo, Drake, Benny Blanco, Jason Mraz, John Mayer, Rob Thomas and John Rzeznik.

“I believe that Hal David would have been delighted with the choice of Nate Ruess as the 2015 Hal David Starlight Award recipient. Nate’s lyrics are clever, warm and accessible and his music is sophisticated and memorable,” said SHOF President/CEO Linda Moran. “Whether it’s the blockbuster hits he created with fun. or the powerful new single from his debut solo album, Nate Ruess is a real force in pop music for today and the future.”

As the frontman of the band fun., Nate Ruess earned two Grammy wins for the 2012 album Some Nights, including Best New Artist and Song of the Year for the 7x-RIAA platinum, “We Are Young.”  Bolstered by the massive global success of “We Are Young,” which saw platinum status in 17 countries, as well as “Some Nights” (platinum in 10 countries) and “Carry On” (platinum in 3 countries), Some Nights debuted in the US at #3 on the Billboard 200 and has since been certified platinum in the US, UK, New Zealand, Canada, and Ireland, selling nearly 3 million copies worldwide.  In total, the album has sold more than 21 million singles around the world.

Ruess also earned a Grammy nomination for “Just Give Me A Reason,” his writing and performance collaboration with P!nk. The two performed the song, which was certified 4x platinum in the US and sold more than 9 million singles worldwide, at the Awards.

More recently, Ruess collaborated with Eminem on his song “Headlights” and co-wrote on Ke$ha’s, “Die Young” and Zedd’s, “Stay The Night feat. Hayley Williams,” as well as on projects with Maroon 5 and Ellie Goulding.  Ruess is currently in the studio completing first solo album, due out this summer, which will include the first single, “Nothing Without Love.”

Inductees at this year’s event include Bobby Braddock, Willie Dixon, Robert Hunter & Jerry Garcia, Toby Keith, Cyndi Lauper and Linda Perry.

Ticket Information:
Tickets for the Songwriters Hall of Fame event begin at $1,250 each, and are available through Buckley Hall Events, 914-579-1000. Net proceeds from the event will go toward the Songwriters Hall of Fame programs. Songwriters Hall of Fame is a 501(c)3 organization. The non-deductible portion of each ticket is $170. Contributions, for which no goods or services are received in exchange, are fully tax-deductible as provided by law.

Fran Curtis
Rogers & Cowan
[email protected]

Cara Hutchison
Rogers & Cowan
[email protected]