Jojo Worthington Announced As Grand Prize Winner In Song Competition

New York, NY (June 1, 2015) – The Songwriters Hall Of Fame (SHOF) and Universal Music Publishing Group (UMPG) have announced Canadian songwriter JoJo Worthington as the Grand Prize Winner in the inaugural Songwriters Hall of Fame Song Competition. The competition, “by songwriters, for songwriters,” was conceived by the accomplished songwriters and leadership of the SHOF and music publishing executives at UMPG as a way to provide aspiring songwriters with an opportunity to share their music, develop their songwriting skills and take the first steps toward a successful career in the music industry. Accordingly, the competition’s Grand Prize package includes the opportunity for the winner to enter into an exclusive music publishing contract with UMPG, as well as an Epiphone Masterbilt DR-500MCE guitar, two tickets to the 2015 Songwriters Hall of Fame Annual Induction and Awards Gala, and recognition from the stage at the ceremony.

In addition to the Grand Prize, four Second Place Winners have been chosen and will receive a one-hour creative and career mentoring session with a legendary songwriter who has been inducted into the Songwriters Hall of Fame (Desmond Child, Donovan, Don Schlitz or Paul Williams), two spectator tickets to the 2015 Annual Induction and Awards Gala and an Epiphone guitar. The four Second Place Winners are:  Jordan Richman Higgins, Travis Nilan, Angela Parrish and Tom Rhodes.

“This is the stuff of dreams for a young songwriter, and we are thrilled to be in partnership on this Song Competition with Universal Music Publishing Group who have generously provided this incredible opportunity,” said SHOF President/CEO Linda Moran. “JoJo is a talented young songwriter, as are the four Second Place Winners; Jordan, Travis, Angela and Tom. We look forward to hearing much more from each of them in the years to come!

“We at Universal Music Publishing are extremely proud to have been part of the inaugural Songwriters Hall of Fame Song Competition. Songwriters Hall of Fame President & CEO, Linda Moran, and her team have done an amazing job setting the path to help discover and enable new and talented songwriters who are looking for their first big break,” said Evan Lamberg, President, North America, Universal Music Publishing Group. “We are honored to have found the uniquely and extremely talented songwriter- artist JoJo Worthington as the Grand Prize winner and we really look forward to working with her and progressing her career.”

“I am full of joy and honored to be the recipient of this award,” said JoJo Worthington. “I am jubilantly anxious to see what will come of this juncture and the connections that are to be made.”

All prize winners will be featured in an article in the 2015 Gala Dinner Journal, circulated to the music industry’s creative and business elite, and have their music and bio profiled on a page of the website, visited by thousands of industry professionals each month.

About The Songwriters Hall of Fame
The Songwriters Hall of Fame celebrates songwriters, educates the public with regard to their achievements, and produces a spectrum of professional programs devoted to the development of new songwriting talent through workshops, showcases and scholarships.  Out of the tens of thousands of songwriters of our era, there are approximately 400 inductees who make up the impressive roster enshrined in the Hall of Fame.  The list includes Barry Mann & Cynthia Weil, Jerry Leiber & Mike Stoller, Eddie Holland, Lamont Dozier & Brian Holland, Smokey Robinson, Albert Hammond, Desmond Child, Paul Williams, Hal David & Burt Bacharach, John Fogerty, Bob Dylan, Isaac Hayes & David Porter, Richard & Robert Sherman, Carole King, Gerry Goffin, Paul Simon, Billy Joel, Jon Bon Jovi & Richie Sambora, Elton John & Bernie Taupin, Brian Wilson, James Taylor, Don Schlitz, Bruce Springsteen, Phil Collins, Alan & Marilyn Bergman, Loretta Lynn, Jimmy Webb, Van Morrison, Kris Kristofferson, Dolly Parton, Diane Warren, Paul Anka, Stevie Wonder, Bob Seger, Steven Tyler & Joe Perry, Leonard Cohen, Ray Davies, Donovan and Mick Jones & Lou Gramm, among many others.

Full biographies and a complete list of inductees are available at the Songwriters Hall of Fame’s Virtual Museum Joining online is quick and easy.

About Universal Music Publishing Group
Universal Music Publishing Group (UMPG) is part of the Universal Music Group and one of the world’s leading music publishing companies, representing music in every genre from some of the most important songwriters and catalogs. These include ABBA, Adele, A Great Big World, Jhené Aiko, Alex Da Kid, Burt Bacharach, Bastille, Beach Boys, Beastie Boys, Irving Berlin, Leonard Bernstein, Justin Bieber, Ruben Blades, Chris Brown, Mariah Carey, Carly Rae Jepsen, Desmond Child, The Clash, Coldplay, J. Cole, Elvis Costello, Miley Cyrus, Neil Diamond, Disclosure, Danny Elfman, Eminem, Gloria and Emilio Estefan, Al Green, Haim, Jimi Hendrix, Hit-Boy, Hunter Hayes, Imagine Dragons, Billy Joel, Elton John/Bernie Taupin, B.B. King, Luke Laird, Linkin Park, the Mamas and Papas, Miguel, Ne-Yo, Nick Jonas, Nicki Minaj, Mumford & Sons, James Napier, Randy Newman, Rudy Perez, Steve Perry, Otis Redding, Darius Rucker, Carole Bayer Sager, Gustavo Santaolalla, Sex Pistols, Shawn Mendes, Paul Simon, Britney Spears, Justin Timberlake, Tobias Jesso Jr., T-Pain, U2, Keith Urban, Troy Verges, Diane Warren, Andrew Lloyd Webber and more.

UMPG is also a global leader in the areas of Classical, Christian/Gospel, and Production Music. Additionally, UMPG plays a major role in film and TV music, providing creative and synch licensing services, and administration for such leading companies as Warner Bros Entertainment, Universal Studios, HBO, DreamWorks, NBC and Sesame Workshop, among others. For more information please visit

Songwriters Hall of Fame Media Contact:
April Anderson
[email protected]         

Rogers & Cowan:
Fran Curtis
Rogers & Cowan
[email protected]

Cara Hutchison
Rogers & Cowan
[email protected]

Universal Music Publishing Group Media Contact:
Rebekah Alperin
[email protected]