Caroline Bienstock To Receive The Abe Olman Publisher Award

Previously Announced Inductees Include: Kenneth "Babyface" Edmonds, Berry Gordy, Jimmy Jam & Terry Lewis, Robert Lamm & James Pankow p/k/a "Chicago,"  Max Martin, and  Shawn "JAY Z" Carter, plus honorees Pitbull and Ed Sheeran

New York, NY - March 28, 2017 - Caroline Bienstock will be the recipient of the Abe Olman Publisher Award, at the 48th Annual Induction and Awards Dinner slated for Thursday, June 15th at the Marriott Marquis Hotel in New York City. Additional special award honorees will be announced soon.

The Abe Olman Publisher Award, named after one of the Songwriters Hall of Fame’s esteemed founders, goes to music publishers who have had a substantial number of songs that have become world-renowned and have furthered the careers and successes of many songwriters.  Past Abe Olman Publisher Awardees have included Milt Okun, Martin Bandier, Les Bider, Nicholas Firth, Maxyne Lang, Keith Mardak, Ed Murphy, Irwin Robinson, Freddy Bienstock, Beebe Bourne and Ralph Peer.

Commenting on the award to Bienstock, SHOF President & CEO Linda Moran said, “This year’s Abe Olman Publisher Award recipient, Caroline Bienstock, has music business blood flowing in her veins from both of her parents. She has taken a leading role in Carlin America for close to three decades. Caroline is highly regarded by her peers, colleagues and songwriters and is a visible industry leader who serves with distinction on many organization boards while ably guiding Carlin, one of the pre-eminent family-owned independent publishers in the world.”

Caroline Bienstock is the President and Chief Executive Officer of Carlin America, Inc., the company her late father, music publishing titan Freddy Bienstock, named for her.  She is currently celebrating her 28th year with the family business.

A New York City native, Caroline was reared in the music business by Freddy and her mother, Miriam, one of the original founders of Atlantic Records.  She graduated cum laude from Yale College before earning her JD at Boston University School of Law.  Caroline then worked as an associate at the New York office of the Chicago law firm Seyfarth Shaw Fairweather & Geraldson.  Subsequently, she earned an MBA from the University of Pennsylvania's Wharton School, and then worked at Goldman, Sachs & Co. before beginning her tenure at Carlin America.

In her capacity as Carlin America's CEO, Caroline oversees and is responsible for all aspects of the family's music publishing business, including catalog growth, licensing, administration and writer development, the organization-wide expansion into film music acquisitions and the Carlin operation in Nashville.  Caroline is a member of the Board of Directors of both the American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers (ASCAP) and the National Music Publishers Association (NMPA).  She is a past Executive Director of the New York Chapter of the Association of Independent Music Publishers (AIMP), having served on that Board for over fifteen years.  Additionally, she serves on the Board of Directors of the Songwriter's Hall of Fame.  She is also a Member of both the Copyright Society and the Entertainment and Sports Law section of the New York State Bar Association.

2017 Songwriters Hall of Fame inductees include musical titans Kenneth "Babyface" Edmonds, Berry Gordy, Jimmy Jam & Terry Lewis, Robert Lamm & James Pankow p/k/a "Chicago,"  Max Martin, and  Shawn "JAY Z" CarterPitbull will be the first-ever recipient of the Global Ambassador Award. Ed Sheeran will be honored with the Hal David Starlight Award.

Ticket Information:

Tickets for the Songwriters Hall of Fame event begin at $1,250 each, and are available through Buckley Hall Events, 914-579-1000. Net proceeds from the event will go toward the Songwriters Hall of Fame programs.  Songwriters Hall of Fame is a 501(c)3 organization.  The non-deductible portion of each ticket is $170. Contributions, for which no goods or services are received in exchange, are fully tax-deductible as provided by law.


Cara Hutchison

Rogers & Cowan


[email protected]