2013 Scholarship Award Recipients Announced

New York, N.Y.- June 11, 2013- The 2013 recipients of the Abe Olman Scholarships for Excellence in Songwriting, The Holly Prize and the NYU Steinhardt Songwriting Scholar Award have been selected, SHOF President/CEO Linda Moran announced today.

This year’s Abe Olman Scholarship recipients are:

Amy Allen
 Kat Edmonson
 Ro James
 Tyler Lyle
 Emily Warren

Abe Olman, for whom the SHOF scholarship program is named, was both a major figure in the music publishing community and a songwriter himself, in addition to being one of the founders of the Songwriters Hall of Fame. The Abe Olman Scholarships given out each year are made possible by his family in the interest of encouraging and supporting the careers of young songwriters the likes of former scholarship recipient John Legend. These songwriters are those who have risen to an exemplary standard and have been chosen by ASCAP, BMI and SESAC.

The Holly Prize, an award made possible by Songmasters and administered and juried by the Songwriters Hall of Fame as a tribute to the legacy of SHOF inductee Buddy Holly will be awarded to Ben Howard. The Holly Prize recognizes and supports the “all-in songwriter,” an exceptionally talented and inspired young musician/singer/songwriter whose work exhibits the qualities of Holly’s music.

The NYU Steinhardt Songwriting Scholar Award is presented to a music composition student whose work holds great potential for success in the field, and embodies the art, craft, individuality and qualities of communication of the best songwriting. Tiger Darrow will be the 2013 NYU Steinhardt Songwriting Scholar awardee.

More information about all of the 2013 recipients can be found here.