Buy Sheet Music by
Lew Pollack at:


Hal Leonard


Wrote "Two Cigarettes in the Dark"


Lew Pollack was born in New York City on June 16, 1895. He was educated at DeWitt Clinton High School and performed as a boy soprano in the Walter Damrosch choral group.

In his early professional career, Pollack was a singer and pianist in vaudeville acts and began writing theme music for silent films including What Price Glory and Seventh Heaven. He also wrote full scores for sound films including Pigskin Parade, One in a Million, Life Begins n College, Rebecca of Sunnybrook Farm and Captain January.

Collaborating with songwriters such as Sidney Mitchell, Erno Rapee, Paul Francis Webster, Sidney Clare, Ned Washington, Ray Gilbert and Jack Yellen.

Highlights from the Pollack catalog include “Charmaine”, “Diane”, “Angela Mia”, “That’s a-Plenty”, “Two Cigarettes in the Dark”, “In the Middle of a Kiss”, “I’m Missin’ Mammy’s KissinԔ, “Weep No More My Mammy”, “Early Bird”, “Moonshine Over Kentucky”, “At the Codfish Ball”, “One in a Million”, “Alone With You”, “Miss Annabelle Lee”, “Reap the Wild Wind”, “Sing, Baby, Sing”, “The Right Somebody to Love” and “Cheatin’ On Me”.

Lew Pollack died in Hollywood, California on January 18, 1946.

More »


Discography Highlights

TWO CIGARETTES IN THE DARK Paul Francis Webster, Lew Pollack
Webster Music Co./Lew Pollack Music

DIANE Erno Rapee, Lew Pollack
Rapee Music Co./Lew Pollack Music

View Full Song ListView Full Song List