2024 Induction & Awards Gala

2024 Inductees
View all inductees

2024 Special Awards
View all special awards

Hillary Lindsey  |  Timothy Mosely  |  Dean Pitchford  |   R.E.M.  |   Steely Dan
Special Awards Recipients:
Diane Warren  |  SZA

Presenters & Performers:
Trey Anastasio  |  Kevin Bacon and Michael Bacon p/k/a The Bacon Brothers  |  Cary Barlowe  |  Andra Day  |  El Debarge  |  Missy Elliott  |  Jason Isbell  |  Nile Rodgers  |  Carrie Underwood  |  Keith Urban  |  Deniece Williams  |  Paul Williams


The 2024 Songwriters Hall of Fame 53rd Annual Induction and Awards Dinner once again took New York City by storm with an unforgettable celebration of the masterful minds behind the soundtracks of our lives. Opened with remarks by SHOF Board Member and Show Committee Chair Evan Lamberg, the Gala recognized and honored the immeasurable impact of some of the most legendary songwriters of our time.
The evening was a dazzling spectacle as musical icons Hillary Lindsey, Timothy Mosley p/k/a Timbaland, Dean Pitchford, Bill Berry, Peter Buck, Mike Mills, and Michael Stipe p/k/a R.E.M., and Walter Becker and Donald Fagan p/k/a Steely Dan were inducted into the Songwriters Hall of Fame. Master songwriter and multi-award-winner Diane Warren received the prestigious Johnny Mercer Award, and 4X GRAMMY award-winning recording artist SZA received the Hal David Starlight Award. The night also followed the posthumous induction of legendary country songwriter Cindy Walker to the SHOF for her remarkable contributions to the world of music in a special tribute held at a SHOF Master Session in Nashville.
The Songwriters Hall of Fame Induction and Awards Dinner, year after year, is a stunning night full of spectacular moments honoring the art of songwriting. The evening kicked off with a special performance of Irena Cara’s “Fame,” performed by 2024 Abe Olman Scholarship recipients Rodney Chrome, Molly Kate Kestner, Sierra “Spirit” Kihega, Ava Liv Mabry, and Matilda Marigolds. 4X GRAMMY award-winning recording artist Deniece Williams then took the stage to begin the induction of Oscar-winning and multi-GRAMMY and Tony-nominated songwriter Dean Pitchford. Williams performed her 1984 hit “Let’s Hear It for the Boy” of Footloose fame, which had the whole crowd clapping to the rhythm. Multi-award-winning actor Kevin Bacon and musician Michael Bacon, who together form The Bacon Brothers, then continued the party, bringing the house to their feet for an electrifying performance of “Footloose” that put Kevin Back in the dancing shoes of his former role. The brothers then inducted Dean, saying his writing has “inspired all of us to reach for our dreams.” Following his induction, Dean performed “Once Before I Go,” a piano-backed, emotional retrospective, fitting for such a momentous occasion.
Renowned manager Irving Azoff began the honors for Steely Dan, naming them “among the best bands ever” and claiming that “their records will be recognized as iconic for the rest of time.” Singer-songwriter and lead guitarist of Phish, Trey Anastasio, then took the stage to perform a medley of Steely Dan hits. The funk-infused “Kid Charlemagne” blended seamlessly into the famous riffs of the timeless, swinging groove of “Reelin’ In the Years.” Trey then inducted Donald Fagan and Walter Becker, stating that together, “they created a body of work that defied categorization - masterful, thought-provoking, elegantly melodic songs filled with beautifully flawed, deeply human and believable characters.”
Songwriters Hall of Fame Chairman, Rock & Roll Hall of Famer, and 6X GRAMMY award-winning musician Nile Rodgers took the stage next to honor SZA with the Hal David Starlight Award, which is presented to young songwriters making a significant impact in the music industry with their original songs. Nile praised her abilities as a composer, which “manage the amazing feat of being ethereal and keeping it real at the same time.” The 4X GRAMMY award-winning recording artist then performed an intimate, acoustic performance of her hit “Snooze” from her breakthrough sophomore album SOS, and claimed that receiving this award “validates [her] entire career.”
Next to the stage was 8X GRAMMY award-winning country superstar Carrie Underwood who kicked off the induction for Hillary Lindsey with a powerful performance of “Jesus Take the Wheel” from her debut album Some Hearts. Carrie bestowed the title “queen of modern Nashville songwriting” to Hillary and 4X GRAMMY-winning musician Keith Urban joined her on stage for the induction. Hillary then performed a stripped down medley of the songs she penned, with a rendition of Lady Gaga’s “Million Reasons” which turned into a duet with Keith Urban joining her for “Blue Ain’t Your Color,” his electric guitar perfectly complimenting her bared-down acoustic melodies.
4X GRAMMY-winner and SHOF inductee Missy Elliot took the stage next to induct her frequent collaborator and friend Timbaland, crediting the fellow 4X GRAMMY-winning rapper and producer with “changing the cadence of hip-hop.” On his induction, Timbaland claimed it to be the “best award [he] could ever get,” before he performed a victory lap of the hits that brought him here, energizing the room with a medley of “Big Pimpin’,” “Pony,” “SexyBack,” “Get Your Freak On,” “Drunk in Love,” “Promiscuous,” and “Suit & Tie.”
R.E.M. had the last induction of the evening, led by 6X GRAMMY award-winning singer, songwriter, and actor Jason Isbell who performed the band’s 1987 song “It’s the End of the World as We Know It (And I Feel Fine).” With his guitar in overdrive, the high energy, quick-flying alternative rocker lit up the room. The band then performed for the first time together in 15 years, playing their multi-GRAMMY award -winning hit “Losing My Religion, which enthralled the audience with a mesmerizing, mandolin-driven performance.
The program neared the finale with the presentation of the Johnny Mercer Award to Diane Warren, the highest honor bestowed by Songwriters Hall of Fame. Multi-award-winning songwriter, SHOF inductee, and Johnny Mercer Award recipient Paul Williams presented the award, claiming “A.I. worries about Diane Warren.” GRAMMY and EMMY award-winning singer and songwriter Andra Day put on a rousing performance of her Oscar-nominated song “Stand Up for Something” from the 2017 film Marshal, with her soaring vocals giving the evening wings. On accepting her award, Diane stated “songwriting isn’t something I do, it’s who I am and what I live and breathe for every day of my life.” 5X GRAMMY award nominee El Debarge then closed out the evening, performing “Rhythm of the Night,” Diane’s first hit song, coinciding with the song’s 40th anniversary and bringing the room to their feet, stomping and clapping as the ceremony closed with a bang.



  • Prager Metis

The Songhall gratefully acknowledges the generous contributions of...

  • BMI
  • NMPA

The Songwriters Hall of Fame's ongoing mission is to celebrate and honor the contributions and legacies of songwriters of all genres of music while developing and nurturing the next generation of songwriters through Master Sessions, songwriting craft forums, scholarships and digital initiatives.