Taylor Swift

Hal David Starlight Award

Taylor Swift will be the recipient of the prestigious Hal David Starlight Award, to be presented at the 2010 Songwriters Hall of Fame Awards dinner on Thursday June 17, 2010 at the New York Marriott Marquis Hotel.

At the young age of 14, Swift signed a publishing deal with Sony/ATV Music and in 2006 she released her self-titled debut CD on Big Machine Records. At the age of 17, she became the youngest person to ever single-handedly write and sing a number-one country single entirely on her own (“Our Song” spent six consecutive weeks at #1 atop Billboard’s Country Singles Chart). She is also the first female solo artist in country music history to write or co-write every song on a platinum-selling debut CD- Taylor Swift.  In addition, Swift wrote or co-wrote every song on her blockbuster Fearless album, released in 2008. Fearless has sold more than 5 million copies, fueled by the multi-genre domestic and international success of chart-topping singles including “Love Story” and “You Belong With Me.”

Swift has sold more than 13 million albums and has numerous awards and accolades to add to her long list of accomplishments, including being the top-selling digital artist in music history, receiving the Artist of the Year Award at the American Music Awards, having the #1 best-selling album in any genre of music in both 2009 and 2008, and to be the first female solo country artist to ever win the all-genre GRAMMY award for Album of the Year. This year alone she took home four GRAMMY awards. In addition to Album of the Year, she was honored for Country Album of the Year, Best Country Song and Best Country Female Vocal Performance.

“Taylor Swift is one of the brightest musical talents to emerge in recent years, and represents the true epitome of the Starlight Award,” Commented Chairman/CEO Hal David. “She possesses an undeniable talent as a songwriter, expressive singer and performer, and we are proud to present her with this well-deserved honor.”

The Hal David Starlight Award, created in 2004, was renamed in honor of the SHOF Chairman for his longtime support of young songwriters. Award recipients are gifted songwriters who are at an apex in their careers and are making a significant impact in the music industry via their original songs. Swift joins the prestigious company of Rob Thomas, Alicia Keys, John Mayer, John Legend, John Rzeznik, and Jason Mraz - the past recipients of the Hal David Starlight Award.
Article Headline